People Said

It’s been awhile. Come on in for a visit. Put your feet up. Here is a new painting for your perusal.


It’s been so long since I started this that I’ve lost the prebreen jpg – all that remains of the original is the head, collar and book of the reader, touched up a bit.

Upon first perusal of the prebreen, I noticed that the reader seemed a bit concerned bout what he was reading, as though he was reading something upsetting about himself. Of course if this book was the bible, then that would probably make him Satan. I titled the tome ‘Tell-All Bible Confidential’ Those who write these autobiographical exposes usually have an axe to grind, and God is no exception, his book being told from a particularly strong point of view.

The text here says’People Said He Resembled His Father! But Didn’t Share His Temper!’ Satan says,”Hmphh, I never said that!” Mother Nature says, “Tut, tut, no one believes autobiographies!”

According to the Bible, Angels are the sons of God, including the fallen ones, so Satan is also God’s son, albeit an extreme example of a black sheep. My point is Satan is more of the don’t get angry, get even type, while God always seems to be consumed by raging anger – not unlike Ranger Porter Ricks in the old ‘Flipper’ TV show, who was always punishing his sons Sandy and Bud for some minor rule infraction. I’m sure none of you get that one, you had to be there in the mid-sixties when there were 3 channels on TV and 2 of them were fuzzy.

Burning Bush Man says love me(or else.) If you are interested in this piece it’s for sale on Ebay here.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Anonymous

     /  March 19, 2007

    Greetings, add me please in friends. =)



    Reply
  2. Anonymous

     /  August 23, 2007

    Poison-Peanut Folk Art? – One Peanut-Allergy Mom’s reaction…
    Okay, I’m stumped. I don’t know how to get my brain around this one:
    Just so you understand: I have a daughter with a peanut allergy, who is beautiful, just like in the painting, and her name is Juliet.
    This picture is going to haunt me forever. For the record, I have always been a huge fan of artists such as Freida Kahlo, Clementine and my most favorite of all; Howard Finster.
    Now flash forward to present day – I am now a mother of a daughter (two daughters, actually) the first of which I named “Juliet” never once thinking about any of dramatic karma or stigma which may be associated with her name. However, I have pondered the irony of giving her this name often since then.
    Let me explain, when she was almost two and I gave her a peanut butter sandwich (Don’t gasp with horror, please; There were no warnings about the dangers of giving peanuts to babies a decade ago. In the mid 1990’s even the holy “What To Expect…” books did not cautioning us about giving peanuts to infants. It boggles the mind how different things have become in the past decade. Now we have more allergies, more warnings, yet no cure in sight.)
    Anyhow, to make a long story short – She almost died in minutes right in front of me. I had no idea what was going on and thought she’d choked to death. At the hospital they told me she may very well not survive as the “allergy” caused her to go into shock so fast she had gone into cardiac arrest. In the end, she survived, but it’s changed our life dramatically. Do you have any idea what it’s like to navigate a school system with this allergy? And then there’s her name. It’s a bizarre irony to live with a beautiful daughter named Juliet who can be poisoned by a single bite of the wrong thing. She’s 10 years old and already gorgeous. I can’t begin to imagine what her teen years will be like.
    To be quite honest, I can’t tell if I absolutely despise your painting or if I can afford to buy it from you. After all, it makes a strong statement and leaves quite an impression on the viewer. Yes, it’s absurd, and funny, too. If the joke isn’t on the “victim” or if the statement is that it’s overblown hype to have this allergy, then, screw you. HOWEVER, if you are using “art” to explore the many sides of an issue; (such as the humor & the horror, and conversely.) then, more power to you. Like I said, I’m a huge fan of this kind of art (Finster and Kahlo) – Do you still have this painting? Did anyone buy it and did they explain to you why they bought it? Just wondering – “Juliet’s mom.”

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

     /  September 21, 2007

    Hello!
    Hi… this story was told to me over the phone while I was laying in bed one night by my boyfriend.
    When he hit the punchline, I recoiled in horror… and then the next day at college I told four people at different parts of the day, and each of their expressions were the same :o- gasped in horror and one girl even said “oh my god”.
    But by the fourth telling, I burst out laughing and found the punchline hilarious, and now I can’t tell it without laughing and everyone thinks I’m really mean.
    But its sooooo funny!!!!! :’)
    xox

    Reply
  4. Anonymous

     /  January 3, 2008

    Frida?
    Frida? I thought it looked more like Jack Sparrow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

