You Have Squid On Your Lip!

This is my latest captain, part of the captain collection I’m stringing together, so not for sale yet. This gentleman was taken out of retirement and really worked over! As many of you know, I travelled to the Cayman Islands recently with the family, and ended up taking a charter with Captain Dexter to Sting Ray City, a sand bar about 4 feet deep, where stingrays have learned to congregate for the past 20 years to get fed by people about 10 times a day. Of course, all though they are gentle, these rays are pretty huge and bump you to get your squid if you torment them by holding it out of reach too long. With the Crocodile Hunter’s well publicized death by getting stabbed through the heart by one of these things, I couldn’t help but be nervous.

Text says, ‘Only The Great White Sting Ray Dares Eat From Captain Dexter’s Mouth!’
Sting Rays dance around Dexter’s head, having inadvertently picked up a few hearts, a Great White Ray rises from the bottom of the piece – of course – all rays are white underneath, the view that you are seeing – what look like eyes here are, I think, nostrils. I made the word ‘Only’ red, so your eye would be drawn to that spot and you would start reading there. But after I painted the squid in, I realized I failed, as you go right to the squid. It looks like it was thrown at the canvas and is soon going to slip to the bottom of the frame. I popped a little self-portrait in there as well, dressed as a captain of course. I covered Dexter’s ear in hair, in deference to my Pelbam idols who believe that an ear should hear, but not be seen.

PREBREEN

POSTBREEN

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

