Hell Olympics

Text says, ‘In the Hell Olympics Resistance to Temptation Wins You An Ice Cube Necklace!’

PREBREEN

Someone asked me if I’d been watching the Olympics recently, and I realized I hadn’t, so I put it on in my studio for background noise. I’d forgotten how stressful it was and couldn’t imagine doing it, working all you life to go through the agony of defeat at the end, which is what most of the athletes did! I also was quite taken by the bright colors of the uniforms. I had this portrait of a woman who looked like she was in some kind of hell already, so I popped her into a USA ski team uniform with a predatory helmet. Satan is offering her an ice cream sundae, but she refuses and is rewarded with an ice cube necklace. Gold would just burn her, and why should she even compete for more of the same? She is both swooning over the torment and reveling in the coolness of the cubes – it works both ways!

POSTBREEN

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

