The Last Candy

Painting is about 16″X17.5″, acrylic on oil or acrylic stretched canvas, painted over an existing painting.

PREBREEN

Text on this one says ‘Grandma Candyhead is sweet, but distant.’

I have to say, when I started painting on this woman, she was pi-i-ssed! I really haven’t had this kind of reaction from a painting in a long, long, time. To keep her quiet I had to cover more and more of her with candy, balancing out the bitterness radiating her hooded eyes! Looking at her was quite unsettling and made me somewhat panicky! Eventually, I covered her eyes with green peppermints and made one lazy.

I also gave her a big set of wax lips, encased her in holiday candy, and essentially reinvented her.  She is quiet now, a sugary version of Lot’s wife. She reminds me of my lazy-eyed, black-clad Nonna, who looked like a man, and who was always sneaking me candy, telling me I was a skinny boy!

POSTBREEN

To buy this painting, go HERE.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

