Peanut Horror

Text says,‘A Peanut Kiss Before Dying!'(A play on the title of the Ira Levin Book) Acrylic painting on about 16″X16″ Gallery wrapped stretched canvas so no frame is necessary. THIS IS NOT a piggyback piece but a rare original breen. To bid on this piece, go HERE.

The first inkling I ever had that nuts could be dangerous came to me through the song “Ate a peanut” when I was a toddler. Synopsis: ate a peanut last night, it was rotten, ate it anyway, died, went to heaven. I actually sang this song once while eating peanuts, scrutinizing each one extremely carefully. I’ve always loved nuts and eaten lots and lots of them, yet, the danger was always there, a rotten one. But then again, you could eat any kind of rotten food and get sick or die. When little breen came along I learned all about peanut allergies. I was severely reprimanded for sending the tyke in with a highly toxic p+b sandwich one day, and I always thought the school was over-reacting(until I heard the story you’ll read further down the page). For those of you that don’t have kids, every class seems to have at least one or several children who are allergic to peanuts. If they eat a little bit of a peanut, or something with peanut dust in it, they could die! This seems to be a new modern problem! I do not remember anyone with peanut allergies when I was a kid. One of my son’s friends carries a hypo everywhere he goes just in case it needs to be driven into his thigh to counteract an accidental nut exposure.

A month or two ago, a news story broke which felt like an urban legend, but was true. A 15 year old Canadian girl died after kissing her boyfriend, who had eaten a peanut butter sandwich hours earlier. This incident has been haunting me for weeks. We’re told our food is KILLING us. Not just peanuts, but meat, carbohydrates, anything you can think of, is bad for us if not outright poisonous. This story, though tragic, really brings this issue to the height of absurdity. It also has a fairy-tale quality to it and I decided to deal with it Mexican retablo style. It’s a touchy subject, not really funny, kind of in bad taste, but, well, I’m me.

Mr. Peanut is hovering over Sleeping Beauty, ready to give her a kiss, while death, peering out of a dense underbrush of peanut plants, weeps. Jimmy Carter is a peanut bug, and he is crying as well. Poison peanut foods are highlighted on the right, while a monument on the left wraps around the painting.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Anonymous

     /  March 4, 2006

    Love It!
    Hey, I was surfing BE and found your blog, I love your artwork! It reminds me of work I have seen at the House of Blues. Great work!

    Reply
    • Anonymous

       /  May 19, 2006

      Re: Love It!
      I’m fairly sure this might be the worst blog I’ve ever seen. Don’t worry, I won’t be coming back.

      Reply
  2. Anonymous

     /  April 20, 2006

    this Blog
    What a great blog which I found through top blog sites! I love the way you write and your art work! I’ll be back. http://chandramoon.efx2.com

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

     /  May 22, 2006

    Great painting! and question
    Love it! Why is the peanut head crying? I thought peanuts were the bad guys? Why is Jimmy Carter a peanut bug? What is a peanut bug? Keep up the good work!

    Reply
    • Anonymous

       /  May 22, 2006

      Re: Great painting! and question
      Peanut Heads are notorious cry-babies, both evil AND sentimental. Jimmy Carter turned peanut bug soon after reading Kafka, most former presidents become bugs upon leaving office.
      Ed

      Reply
  4. Anonymous

     /  June 11, 2006

    I am not sure about this story. I think we need a mythbuster online. Seems this painting was made to disturb people and make them think twice about mr. peanut
    http://www.surrealblog.com

    Reply
  5. Anonymous

     /  January 22, 2007

    My favorite
    This is a beautiful composition. I use the term “beautiful” relatively here as it is obviously a disturbing image – but it really pulls you in. Great job on an original breen. I hope we see more -and that I have a chance to bid on one. I saw this one way too late!

    Reply
  6. Anonymous

     /  August 23, 2007

    Re: Poison-Peanut Folk Art? – One Peanut-Allergy Mom’s reaction…
    I should add my email address so that you can write back to me if you want to.
    LL@socal.rr.com
    Thanks.
    _ “Juliet’s Mom.”

    Reply

Leave a comment